John Roll, Ph.D.
The Elson S. Floyd College of Medicine has named John Roll, Ph.D., as its new Vice Dean for Research. The appointment makes permanent Roll’s position within the college; he has for several months served as the Interim Vice Dean for Research.

Roll will be responsible for promoting and overseeing the college’s faculty research. He will also work with the dean and other administrators to develop a strategic plan to guide the growth and diversification of research in the College of Medicine.

In conjunction with this Roll has also been named as the university’s Associate Vice President for Health Sciences Research.

“The juxtaposition of these two positions will ideally facilitate a merging of the historical strengths of WSU with WSU’s developing strengths in human health,” Roll said.

“We’re excited to have Dr. Roll join us on a permanent basis,” said College of Medicine Founding Dean John Tomkowiak. “He is well respected not only here at WSU, but regionally as well as nationally.

“He will bring the kind of relationship building that will be necessary for us to develop an ESFCOM research enterprise befitting of a Tier One research university. He will not only work to build our research enterprise here in Spokane, but also at our clinical campuses around the state,” Tomkowiak said.

“John’s new position in the Office of Research complements his role in the College of Medicine,” said Vice President for Research Christopher Keane. “This pair of appointments will enable John to lead development of an integrated, system-wide health sciences research agenda for WSU.”

Roll will leave his position as Senior Vice Chancellor of the WSU Spokane Health Sciences campus. He will maintain his faculty positions as a professor in the Colleges of Medicine and Nursing.

Roll is an accomplished researcher. He is the founding director of the WSU Program of Excellence in the Addictions Research (PEAR) and co-director of the WSU Translational Addiction Research Center. He has published more than 125 scholarly articles. He was recently elected to the Washington Academy of Sciences.