Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Advisory Board

Lois Margaret Nora, MD, JD, MBA

Dr. Lois Margaret Nora is Professor of Neurology, President Emeritus, and Dean of Medicine Emeritus at Northeast Ohio Medical University. She also serves as Principal of the Medical School Advisory Group. Passionate about enhancing health professionals’ education in order to improve the care of patients and the overall health of our communities, Dr. Nora’s career is notable for community engagement and organizational transformation achieved by fostering high performing teams, building consensus and seeking diverse stakeholder engagement.

From 2012-2018, Dr. Nora served as President and Chief Executive Officer of the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS). During her tenure, the organization initiated the “Continuing Board Certification: Vision for the Future” initiative.

During 2018, Dr. Nora was a Fellow in the Advanced Leadership Initiative at Harvard University, where her work focused on accreditation as a lever for positive change in education. She also continued work on the history of women in medicine. Her earlier work includes appointments as president and dean of Medicine at the Northeast Ohio Medical University (2002-2010), interim president and dean of Commonwealth School of Medicine (now Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine), and associate dean of academic affairs and administration and professor of neurology at the University of Kentucky College of Medicine.

Dr. Nora currently serves on the Steering Committee of the National Academy of Medicine’s Action Collaborative on Clinician Well-being and Resilience and the Board of Visitors of the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy. She has served as the President of the American Association of Neuromuscular and Electrodiagnostic Medicine, Chair of HRSA’s Council on Graduate Medical Education (COGME), on the Board of Directors of the Association of American Medical Colleges, and as a trustee of the Margaret Clark Morgan Foundation.

Dr. Nora’s honors include the American Medical Women’s Association President’s Recognition Award, the Association of Medical Colleges Group on Educational Affairs Merrel Flair Award in Medical Education, the New Horizons Award from the Liaison Committee on Medical Education, the Phillips Medal of Public Service from the Ohio University College of Osteopathic Medicine, and four honorary degrees.

Dr. Nora received her medical degree from Rush Medical College, a law degree and certificate in clinical medical ethics from the University of Chicago and a Master of Business and a master of business administration degree from the University of Kentucky.

Lois Nora
Lois Margaret Nora, MD, JD, MBA
Advisory Board Member