Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Advisory Board

Lorris Betz, M.D., Ph.D.

Dr. A. Lorris Betz received his B.S., M.D. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Wisconsin. He then completed a pediatric residency and a research fellowship in pediatric neurology at the University of California, San Francisco. He joined the faculty at the University of Michigan in the Departments of Pediatrics and Neurology in 1979 and later was appointed to the faculty in the Department of Surgery. Other administrative appointments at U of M included Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Executive Associate Dean, and Interim Dean from 1996 to 1998.

Dr. Betz began his term at the University of Utah in June of 1999 when he was named Senior Vice President for Health Sciences, Dean of the School of Medicine, and CEO of the University of Utah Health Care. He held faculty appointments in the Departments of Pediatrics, Neurobiology and Anatomy, and Physiology. Dr. Betz twice served as Interim President of the University of Utah (2004 and 2011-12). Following his retirement from the University in May, 2012, Dr. Betz was named Senior Vice President Emeritus of Health Sciences. He was awarded an honorary Doctor of Science degree by the University in 2012. In May, 2017, Dr. Betz returned to the University as Interim Senior Vice President for Health Sciences, CEO and Executive Dean—positions he held until August, 2018.

Dr. Betz’s research focused on the physiology of the blood-brain barrier and the biochemical mechanisms that lead to brain injury in stroke. He has published over 150 scientific papers and he has served on numerous boards and advisory panels. He was Chair of the American Association of Medical Colleges (AAMC) Council of Deans Administrative Board (2009-2010) and also Chair of the AAMC Board of Directors (2013-2014). He began a 3-year term as Chair of the Board of Trustees for the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia in July 2017.

Lorris Betz
Lorris Betz, M.D., Ph.D.
ESFCOM Advisory Board Chair